A song, reversed

Draw me close to you
Never let me go
I lay it all down again
To hear you say that I’m your friend

You are my desire
No one else will do
‘Cause nothing else could take your place
To feel the warmth of your embrace
Help me find the way, bring me back to you

You’re all I want
You’re all I’ve ever needed
You’re all I want
Help me know you are near

The lyrics of Kelly Carpenter’s song are undeniably beautiful, but as I positioned myself as the singer, raising them to the Lord, I instead found myself on the receiving end. God took the words from my lips and presented them back to me:

“Draw me close to you–Never let me go! I lay it all down again to hear you say that I’m your friend.”

Really, the problem is not God drawing me close. If He had His way I’d be in His presence all the time. It’s me who walks away, following my own agenda or that of the world around me. And then, even more true but equally unexpected, God continues:

“You are my desire. No one else will do, nothing else could take your place… Help me find the way–bring me back to you!”

No one else. No one else. That’s how God loves us, no matter who we are or what we’ve done.

“Then Jesus told them this parable: ‘Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’ I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.'” (Luke 15:3-7)

The minute we open our arms, the door, our minds, God will be there. Not only that, He’ll be rejoicing! But we have to open the door. Waiting for God to do the work is to misunderstand what’s really coming between our relationship. And so, in response, my prayer:

“You’re all I’ve ever needed. You’re all I want. Help me know you are (already) near.”

One thought on “A song, reversed

Leave a Reply

