The soundtrack

The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

— “10,000 Reasons (Bless The Lord)” by Matt Redman

I love to sing. I love how a song carries me, the ebb and flow of the lyrics and the combinations that form harmony. No matter what my mood, I can turn on a song, crank it up, and be carried outside of myself, my problems, my head.

Songs stick. Over the course of my kids’ lives, I’ve found myself humming the themes to Thomas the Engine, Dora the Explorer, Jake and the Neverland Pirates, and most recently My Little Pony. Even as time passes and these songs are replaced by new ones, I can still pull up the lyrics if I try hard enough. I can still remember the songs I listened to in high school, college, and driving across the country. We experience songs. They spread themselves across events. Our lives, eventually, could be summed as one long playlist.

Imagine, as this song does, that my life is a song for Christ.

Imagine that I get up in the morning and begin singing. Singing through making breakfast and lunch. Singing as I volunteer in classes and ministry, greet friends, bring my children home and put them to bed. Imagine that the Holy Spirit’s song carries me with its lyrics and harmony. Imagine if I could live each day outside of myself and my selfish desires, riding on that spirit. Imagine how sweet the rest to be singing even as I fall asleep. There’s a difference there, between living for Christ and singing for Christ.

May ours ears be opened to that song, that we may bring that sweet music to the whole world.

Leave a Reply

