The kiss of diss

K: Can I have a playdate today?

Me: How about we play together, just you and me?

K: That’s okay. I want to let you do your work.

Me: You know, I don’t really have any work to do right now. I’d love to play with you all afternoon.

K: Oh. It’s just that… well, I’d kind of rather play with someone my own age.

And there it is: the first official diss. After years of playing dolls and legos and board games, you’d think I’d be relieved. But no, it still feels like a diss. On the plus side, I love that she’s  got good friends that she wants to play with. As long as none of them figure out how to make really great carrot cake, I think I’ll still be loved.

Leave a Reply

