Sweet Dreams

As I tucked M into bed tonight, he took hold of my arm and clutched it to his chest. “I’m not letting you go!” he insisted. He will never know how many times I’ve thought the very same thing. I tried to reason with him, that we would wake each other up and we need our space and there are precedents to be kept. But in the end, I slept in his bed. It was not the most restful night, but it was a lovely way to wake up, with my boy by my side. We spent a while just talking about traveling and possible summer vacations and how fun it was to spend time together. There’s something so very comforting about being wanted, and such an honor too–one that I know I won’t be privileged with forever. I’m glad–even with an unrestful night–to enjoy it while it lasts.

Leave a Reply

