Six-tastic

Six.

Really?

Six.

For once I don’t doubt it. You are full of accomplishment these days–reaching, reading, teaching, jumping, reciting from memory and making your own jokes. You also treat me to more these days than ever before, from that chuckle of yours to the the sweet way you still throw your arms around me to the spontaneous “I love yous.” You sat in my lap for prayers last night, the first time in a while, and we could both feel it–the sneaky way that your growth is slowly making it harder for me to imagine you as my baby. But now you are my little boy, bright-eyed and sharp, sweet and helpful. I love six, and I love you. Happy birthday, dearest M.

One thought on “Six-tastic

Leave a Reply

