I pray

I tell the kids often: There are no bad people, only people who make bad choices. And I tell them too: God loves those people just as much as anyone else. And maybe most importantly: He wants us to do the same.

I mourn a soul lost, as I know God does. I also mourn for a world celebrating death, however “deserved,” a world so tightly holding on to bitterness and anger and hurt that it fails to see that the difference between justice and murder is just a flip of the coin. I pray for peace, for safe homecomings, for healing. I pray for salvation, too, and, definitely most importantly, for love. As Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians13, “it always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” I pray that we can clothe our future–ourselves, our children–in such assurance. I pray that I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

