Dangerous pastimes

If we call a bicycle a bike, why don’t we call a motorcycle a motorke? What we say occassionally is motorbike, which is to say that it’s a motorized bicycle, but then why wasn’t it called a motorbicycle in the first place?

Anyone get the subject? Of course, motorcycles being dangerous and such, but also: “LeFou, I’m afraid I’ve been thinking” “A dangerous pastime” “I know”? The lodge exchange in Beauty and the Beast? Anyone? I guess when a subject needs explanation, it wasn’t quite as witty as it seemed. Also, I apparently watched Beauty and the Beast (and listened to the accompanying soundtrack) a few too many times as a child, because I still remember that exchange, and I haven’t seen the movie in something like 15 years.

One thought on “Dangerous pastimes

Leave a Reply

