Happy 5th birthday, M!

Dearest M,

With your fifth birthday upon us, I think about that statistic–you know, the one that says that a goodly portion of your brain is, by this point, as it will be. It’s a scary thing to consider, really, when it’s been a goodly portion of my responsibility to make sure that it develops properly. But as the day winds to a close, I can’t help but feel relieved. You wanted to spend your birthday quietly, as a family, building with Legos and baking cookies for the local firehouse. You tell me you love me, often and without provocation. You have a tender, thoughtful spirit and an eagerness to learn. I love you, as always, but I admire you, too.

Happy birthday, sweetheart. You are my baby boy, the start of this whole magnificent stage of life, and I treasure the last five years more than you can imagine. Thank you, and thank God–for being you, for blessing me.

3 thoughts on “Happy 5th birthday, M!

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

