Disneyland #1

The absence of my posting does not in any way equate with the absence of activity. In fact, we’ve had a whole series of firsts, not the least of which was our first trip to Disneyland. Here’s a summation, courtesy of M, who is turning out to be an awesome photographer:

That’s K and B on It’s a Small World. In fact, Disneyland is anything but a small world, especially to kids who aren’t big on rides, loud noises, and strange characters. Let’s just say that starting off with Mr Toad’s Wild Ride was a poor choice. There was a lot of cuddling, soothing, and more selective decision-making as the day progressed, and the experience improved along with it.

Turned out they liked the trains–yes, K has a box on her head. It had a brief second life as a hat. They also discovered carousels, ferris wheels, and really long lollipops. I discovered that I love my kids just the way they are, even if it means that they aren’t into Disney the way everyone else seems to be. It might be that it made me love them a tiny bit more.

They did enjoy meeting Tigger and Pooh Bear, although more in the distant-waving kind of way. Woody got a high-five from M, who then looked at me with a shrug like, “Friendly giant cowboy, that was.”  But it was nearly free, courtesy of their uncle and his Disney-employed girlfriend, which made it all the more worthwhile. B and I even snuck in some grown-up rides after the kids headed home.

I’d been long-awaiting this first, so excited to share Disneyland with them, and I was relieved that it was fun. But it was also a wake-up call for me to meet my kids where they are and appreciate that. There will be days when they want to see every character, when they are the ones abandoning us for grown-up rides, when they abandon us altogether and go with their friends. I will miss that I had to cuddle and soothe, that a box could be a hat, and that the best part of our day could be spent just hanging out together.

2 thoughts on “Disneyland #1

  1. We still haven’t done the Mr. Toad thing. We’re still onthe rides outside – J doesn’t like the dark rides!!

  2. Word of advice? Skip it. I had the lofty notion that because they’ve read a Frog and Toad story and it was in a car that it would be the PERFECT ride. Yeah. Except for the whole “descent into hell” part. I’m my defense, that was not in the story.

Leave a Reply

